Athugið þessi frétt er meira en 3 mánaða gömul.

Former government MP joins Social Democrats

16.12.2020 - 15:14
Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir
 Mynd: Fréttir
Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir, who has been an independent MP since resigning from Vinstri grænir (the Left Greens) in September, has decided to join Samfylkingin (the Social Democrats).

Rósa Björk joined her first meeting of Samfylkingi Members of Alþingi at 13.00 this afternoon, walking into the room to loud celebration from the party’s previous seven MPs. Rósa Björk did not support the coalition agreement between Vinstri grænir, Sjálfstæðisflokkurinn (the Independence Party), and Framsóknarflokkurinn (the Progressive Party) in November 2017, and neither did Andrés Ingi Jónsson. Both have since resigned from Vinstri grænir, becoming independent MPs.

Rósa Björk released a statement this afternoon: 

"Today, I joined the parliamentary party of Samfylkingin after being an independent Member of Alþingi for the past three months. My political emphases and those of Samfylkingin are closely aligned, placing importance on increased equality in society, where everyone can thrive on their own terms, regardless of class or position, but also in peace and independence, in an open, forward-looking, diverse society that pushes an active, multifaceted foreign policy. Recently, Samfylkingin has also been putting its weight more clearly on climate change and environmental matters than in the past, and has put forth a good plan for a green recovery from the COVID-19 recession. This tipped the scale for me when it came to taking this decision to join Samfylkingin and its parliamentary group. I very much look forward to taking part in the work of Samfylkingin and adding my weight to the scales to improve Icelandic society.” 

Rósa resigned from Vinstri grænir in the wake of the case of an Egyptian family scheduled for deportation from Iceland. She said the handling of the case left her feeling she was no longer on the same path as the parliamentary Vinstri grænir party. 

Samfylkingin now has eight MPs. The government coalition has a three-member majority of 33, against 30 opposition MPs. 

Click to follow RÚV English on Facebook.

Alexander Elliott
Project manager