Athugið þessi frétt er meira en 9 mánaða gömul.

New COVID rules now in effect

20.10.2020 - 02:07
Mynd með færslu
 Mynd: Freyr Arnarsson - RÚV
Most anti COVID-19 contagion rules in Iceland are being extended for a further two weeks from today (Tuesday), though several are being strengthened—especially outside the capital region. Here are all the details.

All contact sports regulated under the national sports confederation are banned in the capital region until the end of the 3rd November under the health minister’s new updated rules. The new rules mostly follow the recommendations of chief epidemiologist Þórólfur Guðnason to the stand-in health minister late last week. Capital region swimming pools will remain closed and restaurants in the region must close at 21.00, which is two hours earlier than the rest of the country.

Minister of Health Svandís Svavarsdóttir returned to work this weekend after a week signed off, during which time environment minister Guðmundur Ingi Guðbrandsson took on her responsibilities. 

Despite the sports rule running only to 3rd November at this stage, the new rules in general are set to last until the 10th and include the extension of the two-metre rule, and requirement to wear face masks when the rule cannot be strictly maintained, to the whole country. The national assembly limit is 20 people, except for at funerals, where up to 50 can gather. 

Contact sports under the national sports confederation are permitted outside the capital, but no spectators are allowed. 

Residents of the capital can, however, participate in group sports activities where all participants are registered and the two-metre rule can be enforced. Participants may not share equipment and all equipment must be sanitised between sessions. School swimming lessons in the capital are also cancelled for the time being. 

Sports and extracurricular activities for pre- and primary school children, including school swimming sessions, that require more contact and more mixing between groups than normal school lessons, are not permitted in the capital region municipalities of Garðabær, Hafnarfjörður, Kjósahreppur, Kópavogur, Mosfellsbær, Reykjavík, and Seltjarnarnes. 

Click to follow RÚV English on Facebook.