Eleven parties vying for election

10.09.2021 - 16:08
Mynd með færslu
 Mynd: Birgir Þór Harðarson - RÚV
The deadline for submitting candidate lists for the 25th September Alþingi election passed at midday today.

Ten parties submitted lists for all six electoral districts, while two districts will in all likelihood have eleven parties on their ballots.

The eleventh party is Ábyrg framtíð (Responsible Future), which has submitted candidate lists for the South Iceland and North Reykjavík districts. 

Election officials will analyse the paperwork tomorrow before declaring them officially valid for the election. Early voting has already been underway for some weeks. 

The other ten parties standing in all regions are: 

  • Framsóknarflokkurinn /The Progressive Party (xB) 
  • Viðreisn/The Reform Party (xC) 
  • Sjálfstæðisflokkurinn/The Independence Party (xD) 
  • Flokkur fólksins/The People’s Party (xF) 
  • Sósíalistaflokkurinn/The Socialist Party (xJ) 
  • Miðflokkurinn/The Centre Party (xM) 
  • Frjálslyndi lýðræðisflokkurinn/The Liberal Democracy Party (xO) 
  • Píratar/The Pirates (xP) 
  • Samfylkingin/The Social Democrats (xS) 
  • Vinstri hreyfingin grænt framboð/The Left Movement Green Candidature (usually just 'The Left Greens') (xV)

About the election    

All Icelandic citizens (ríkisborgarar) aged over 18 are eligible to vote.      

The Multicultural and Information Centre has created a comprehensive election website in English, which can be seen here.     

With just over two weeks to go until the 25th September election, RÚV English is covering politics almost every day under the “Election 2021” tag. There will be an election special of The Week in Iceland on 20th September, and live election night coverage.    

Click to follow RÚV English on Facebook.