Athugið þessi frétt er meira en 2 ára gömul.

L’Italie, douze points!

15.05.2020 - 11:12
Mynd: Skjáskot / RÚV
Iceland would have given its maximum points allowance to Italy at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020, Hollywood actor Will Ferrell announced last night at the culmination of a live mock-Eurovision party on RÚV. With more live shows tonight and tomorrow night, however, the fun of ‘not-quite-Eurovision-week' is still only just getting started!

After an online vote on Tuesday, Icelandic viewers whittled this year’s 41 entries down to a top-15. A genuine Eurovision-style live televote then ensued during last night’s live show, revealing that Iceland would have given one point each to the Netherlands and Austria (if such a thing were possible), three to Switzerland, four to Azerbaijan, five to Sweden, six to Bulgaria, seven to Denmark, eight to Lithuania, ten points to Russia, and then it was over to Will Ferrell to announce the recipient of Iceland’s 12 points. It was none other than Diodato, singing for Italy with the song Fai Rumore. Diodato was also on-hand to say thanks for the recognition (see the video above).

The 139 króna charge for each phone or SMS vote went entirely to the contingency fund helping those most affected by the COVID-19 crisis.

In other related news, a similar show on Swedish television last night awarded the full 12 points to Iceland’s Daði og Gagnamagnið. 

Talking of Daði Freyr: do be sure to tune in to RÚV (on TV or online) at 19.40 Icelandic time this evening for a show that would have been all-but unthinkable until a few short months ago. The talented musician will welcome the Icelandic nation, and anyone else who cares to join us, into his Berlin apartment for an hour-long live broadcast, performing a selection of his favourite Eurovision songs of all time. It’s primetime Friday evening TV like we’ve never seen before! 

Saturday, of course, is the highlight of every Eurovision week and this year is no exception...apart from the fact that Eurovision is cancelled, of course. 

All 41 national broadcasters that originally signed up to enter this year (plus a few others) are all airing the live show from the Netherlands on Saturday evening. It starts on RÚV at 19.00, Icelandic time. 

The show will last around two hours and will feature all of this year’s entrants singing together, via satellite from their home countries, as well as a host of Eurovision stars from years gone by, and extensive viewer interaction, we are promised. The show is a first (and hopefully last) of its kind and promises to be a memorable spectacle. 

And, as if that weren’t enough, it is followed at 21.10 by a full-on Eurovision party, fronted by Eurobandið and special guests, live from Reykjavík’s Harpa concert and conference centre. Crank up the volume and get ready to dance around the living room to all your favourite (or least-hated, depending on your persuasion) Eurovision classics from across the decades.

Click to follow RÚV English on Facebook.

alexandere's picture
Alexander Elliott
Fréttastofa RÚV